Presentation Night & List of Awards

The end of season presentation night takes place this Saturday, 28th April, in Leinster Cricket Club at 8pm.

Sandwiches will be provided on the night and there will be no charge.

The full list of individual and team winners is available to view here: click here to open.

Well done to all the winning teams and players.

Pictured above is Leixlip 1, sponsored by Toyota – Liffey Valley, who won the Division 2 league title.

Division 1 & 4 Cup Finals Report

The midnight oil was burnt again in Balgriffin Hall where the cup finals took place on Friday 20th April. A very exciting night of table tennis was watched by a capacity crowd.
The Division 1 cup was between Terenure1 and Balgriffin 1. Balgriffin lead the singles encounters by 6-3 so were one match away from winning the cup. However, Terenure team had other ideas, they had very convincing wins in all of the regular match doubles. The match was 6 all and deciding doubles beckoned. The Balgriffin lads, Paul Norgrove/Romain Barth won the first two games 11/9 in both, but Terenure stars of Tommy Fitzgerald / Mia O’Rahilly came back fighting, winning 11/5,11/9,11/9, thereby will be collecting the division 1 cup next Saturday night 28th in Leinster Table Tennis Club. A special thanks to Terry McKeon for umpiring the deciding doubles in her usual professional manner. Final result Terenure 7 Balgriffiin 6.

The Division 4 cup was also played between Pingzone 3 and Leixlip 3. Pingzone lead 5-4 going into the doubles. Leixlip proved too strong in the doubles pairings, winning all three and the last doubles going to a 5 setter, winning 11/7 in the final set. Final result Leixlip 7 Pingzone 5. See you all next Saturday night in Leinster Club.

Issued by Denis Kelly, Leinster League Steward.

Cup Finals Week

4 Division Cup finals take place this week. 

For the details on the matches and venues, view our results section here. Spectators are welcome, and there should be some great some matches.

The end of season presentation night takes place in Leinster cricket club, on Saturday 28th April. Any perpetual trophies won last year should be returned to Dublin Trophies as soon as possible.

2018 League Bulletin Now Available

The 2017/18 League Bulletin is now available, with the final standings and a steward’s report for each division.

Click here to open the bulletin.

Well done to all the winning teams and players. The end of season presentation night takes place in Leinster cricket club, on Saturday 28th April. Any perpetual trophies won last year should be returned to Dublin Trophies as soon as possible.

The Cup competitions are now underway, and the finals are scheduled to take place in 3 different clubs:

  • Monday 16th April – Leinster
  • Tuesday 17th April – St Pats
  • Friday 20th April – Balgriffin

The exact matches for each night will be decided after the semi-finals.


Cup Draw 2017/18

The Draw for the 2017/18 Cup Competition is now available: Click here to view the draw

Best of luck to all the teams involved, and don’t forget to email in any results.

The first round matches are due to be played the week commencing 26th March, with the semi finals taking place the following week.

The finals will take place the week commencing 16th April, with venues to be decided.

The Presentation Night will be held in Leinster on Saturday 28th April, at 8pm. All perpetual trophies won last year should be returned to Dublin Trophies as soon as possible.

Report and Photos from 2018 Belfast League Match

The 2018 Leinster League v Belfast & District League Match took place in PingZone on Saturday 17th February.

  • Div 1: Romain Barth, Paul Norgrove, Yingjie Qi
  • Div 2: Kevin McCarthy, John McCormack, Jerzy Zagac
  • Div 3: Gerry Weafer, Tony Healy, Josef Grencik


Belfast got off to a great start winning the first three matches. In the first Paul Norgrove played great against Willie Cherry only losing 8/11 in the 5th. In the second Romain was very unlucky losing a 4 set match against Rodney McKirgan, losing two of the sets 10/12 and 12/14. Leinster got back to winning ways when Romain beat Willie in yet another thriller winning 15/13 in the 5th. Alex Bartusik was up next against Paul.  He had already beaten Yingjie in straights and he did the same to Paul but two of the sets were very close 9/11 and 11/13. Belfast now led 4-1. Yingjie put another one on the board for Leinster beating Rodney in a real close 4 setter – all nines. The score is now 2-4. Leinster badly needed the next one to stay in the match, Romain v Alex. Romain got the better start winning the first set 11/3, barely lost the second 10/12, won the next 11/9, lost the 4th 9/11. All down to the final set. Neck and neck all the way but Alex came out on top 10/12. Belfast had the match won. The next two games were played and Belfast won both in straight sets. This match was much closer than the score suggests. Well done Belfast. RESULT 2-7                                              


In this match Leinster got off to the better start with John Mc Cormack winning the first against Syd Beasant in the 4th set. Kevin McCarthy lost to Steve Hughes again in the 4th and Jerzy lost to Maurice Rooney in straights to give Belfast a lead of 2-1. Kevin had a great win over Syd, again in 4 sets and John beat Maurice in a real close 5 setter to give Leinster a 3-2 lead. Short lived as Jerzy found Steve too strong and lost in straights to make it 3-3. Leinster were very unlucky in the next two games.  Kevin lost to Maurice 8/11 in the 5th and Jerzy, having been two sets down, came back to 2-2 only to lose 9/11 in the 5th giving Belfast a lead of 5-3 and the match. John played the final match but lost in 4 sets.  Well done Belfast. RESULT 3-6              


It was all down to the third team to save the day.  We couldn’t lose all three or could we!! Tony Healy and Gerry Weafer got the ball rolling beating Jim Sterling and Rodney Simmonds both in the 4th set. Josef Grencik lost in straights to Joe Smith. Gerry had a great win 11/4 in the 5th over Jim and Tony beat Joe in the 4th set to give Leinster a 4-1 lead. Things were looking good. Belfast won the next to make it 4-2. The three lads, Gerry, Tony and Josef brought out all the stops winning the next three games to give them the win overall. Well done Leinster. RESULT 7-2

The player of the day was a really hard decision.  We had four players who had won all their games – Alex from the first team, Steve from the second and Gerry and Tony from the third. Alex was chosen as he had won a really tight 5 set game at a crucial stage of the match. He was presented with the Pat O’Brien individual trophy.

Well done to all the players for giving us such an enjoyable day of table tennis. Some of the games were so close they could have gone either way but well done to Belfast for getting the overall win.

Many thanks to Roman from Pingzone for giving us the hall and for providing tea and coffee.

– Terri McKeon

Photos by Jimmy Fleming

Belfast League Match This Saturday, 17th February, at 2pm

The Leinster League teams for the annual Belfast League match are as follows:

Team 1

Romain Barth, Paul Norgrove, Yingjie Qi

Team 2

Jerzy Zajac, John McCormack, Kevin McCarthy

Team 3

Gerry Weafer, Josef Grencik, Tony Healy

Well done to all of the players picked to represent the Leinster League. The matches are scheduled for 2pm on Saturday 17th February in PingZone

The start time was previously marked as 2:30pm, but that has been corrected to 2pm.

Spectators are welcome, and there should be some great matches, featuring some of the best players from both leagues.

Last year, Belfast won out 2-1, with all 3 team matches ending 5-4. You can read the 2017 match report here.